News

Book Giveaway

Praise for Eleanor’s Secret: ‘Beecham’s easy-flowing prose and astute structure make the pages fly.’  Sydney Morning Herald ‘Fans of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton will very much enjoy this release.’ Debbishdotcom The small paperback edition of Eleanor’s Secret will be on sale from 24thApril and includes a chapter from Finding Eadie. To celebrate I’m giving away three copies…

Read More

Finding Eadie published July 2020

My new novel, Finding Eadie, will be published by Allen & Unwin in Australia and New Zealand in July 2020. It’s my third historical fiction novel published by the award-winning publishers and I’m very lucky to work with an incredible team including publisher, Annette Barlow, and senior editor, Christa Munns. Finding Eadie is set in…

Read More

Images from The Second World War

The Second World War artworks were very revealing, in particular pictures by Evelyn Dunbar, Laura Knight, Doris Zinkeisen, Edward Ardizzone and Anthony Gross, many of which are on view through the Imperial War Museum. The Portrait Gallery is where the committee met and their archives also provided a wealth of research including the War Pictures…

Read More

Drawn to show the world as it was: the women who became official war artists

Scottish artist Doris Zinkeisen was one of only a handful of women who worked as an official war artist during the Second World War. When the War Artists’ Advisory Committee was set up in 1939 to make an artistic record of Britain at war, 400 artists took part in the scheme; the majority were men,…

Read More